Driver Education Services

Offering All of the Courses Required for Your Teen to Get Their Colorado Driver's License

Choose from our list of individual and packaged driver's education course options or select one of our Premier Packages for the full program! Please be sure to review the information below for details on course requirements. If you have any questions, please call our office during our normal business hours at (720) 261-8591.

Please see the following links for upcoming Classroom Schedule and Written Permit Test times and locations.

Course Schedule for 30 Hour Classroom 2021-2022

Written Permit Test Schedule 2021 | Written Permit Test Schedule 2022 

 

  • Premier Package: In-Person Classroom

    Premier Package Includes our Full Program with the 30-Hour Course in our In-Person Classroom

    This package is our most popular and meets all Colorado state requirements for driver education and includes:

    • The 30-Hour Driver Education Classroom with our Police Officer instructors 
    • The Written Permit Test (taken in-person at TopCops)
    • Two 3-Hour private Behind-The-Wheel Driving Lessons
    • The Driving Test (taken with TopCops)

    About Our Curriculum
    Students MUST be 14 years and 6 months of age on day one of class. Our curriculum covers SIPDE, defensive driving, traffic laws, controlling a car, zone of control, space cushion management, the SMOG technique, adverse conditions and emergencies, alcohol and drugs, responsibilities of operating a car, basic car maintenance, and more. We focus on building confidence through a positive approach to the responsibility of driving.

    About Our Driving Lessons and Driving Test
    Our private driving lessons are one-on-one with a Colorado Police Officer as the Driving Instructor. Each lesson will cover basic car control, road management, scanning, decision making, hazard management, and highway control. Once your student has held their permit for one year, they can schedule their Driving Test. Please review the information on our Driving Test page for more details and requirements.

    *Please Note:  Packages with classrooms are not interchangeable, student cannot switch from the In-Person to the Virtual to the Online Self-Paced.  There is a $100 fee to transfer packages. Please be sure you are selecting the correct package.

  • Premier Package: Virtual ZOOM

    Premier Package Includes our Full Program with the 30-Hour Course Virtually through ZOOM

    This package is our most popular and meets all Colorado state requirements for driver education and includes:

    • The 30-Hour Driver Education Class Virtually through ZOOM
    • The Written Permit Test (taken in-person at TopCops)
    • Two 3-Hour private Behind-The-Wheel Driving Lessons
    • The Driving Test (taken with TopCops)

    About Our Curriculum
    Students MUST be 14 years and 6 months of age on day one of class. Our curriculum covers SIPDE, defensive driving, traffic laws, controlling a car, zone of control, space cushion management, the SMOG technique, adverse conditions and emergencies, alcohol and drugs, responsibilities of operating a car, basic car maintenance, and more. We focus on building confidence through a positive approach to the responsibility of driving.

    About Our Driving Lessons and Driving Test
    Our private driving lessons are one-on-one with a Colorado Police Officer as the Driving Instructor. Each lesson will cover basic car control, road management, scanning, decision making, hazard management, and highway control. Once your student has held their permit for one year, they can schedule their Driving Test. Please review the information on our Driving Test page for more details and requirements.

    *Please Note:  Packages with classrooms are not interchangeable, student cannot switch from the In-Person to the Virtual to the Online Self-Paced.  There is a $100 fee to transfer packages. Please be sure you are selecting the correct package.

  • Premier Package: Self-Paced Online Course

    Premier Package Includes our Full Program with the 30-Hour Self-Paced Online Course

    This package meets all Colorado state requirements for driver education and includes:

    • The 30-Hour Online Driver Education Course completed at your own pace (upgraded narrative textbook included, must be completed within six months)
    • The Written Permit Test (taken in-person at TopCops)
    • Two 3-hour private Behind-The-Wheel Driving Lessons
    • The Driving Test (taken at TopCops)

    About Our Curriculum
    Students MUST be 14 years and 6 months of age to take the course. Our curriculum covers SIPDE, defensive driving, traffic laws, controlling a car, zone of control, space cushion management, the SMOG technique, adverse conditions and emergencies, alcohol and drugs, responsibilities of operating a car, basic car maintenance, and more. We focus on building confidence through a positive approach to the responsibility of driving. The credentials for logging into the online course will be emailed to all the emails on the account within 24 hours of payment.

    About Our Driving Lessons and Driving Test
    Our private driving lessons are one-on-one with a Colorado Police Officer as the Driving Instructor. Each lesson will cover basic car control, road management, scanning, decision making, hazard management, and highway control. Once your student has held their permit for one year, they can schedule their Driving Test. Please review the information on our Driving Test page for more details and requirements.

    *Please Note:  Packages with classrooms are not interchangeable, student cannot switch from the In-Person to the Virtual to the Online Self-Paced.  There is a $100 fee to transfer packages. Please be sure you are selecting the correct package. 

  • 30-Hour In-Person Classroom + Permit Test

    Package Includes the 30-Hour In-Person Classroom and the Written Permit Test

    About the In-Person Classroom
    Students must be at least 14 years and 6 months of age on day one of class. This 30-Hour Driver Education Classroom will be at our scheduled location on our four scheduled dates. You will get an email reminder 3-5 days ahead of classroom start with materials. This course also includes an informative 30-minute parent orientation on the first day of class, please plan to attend.

    About Our Curriculum
    Our curriculum covers SIPDE, defensive driving, traffic laws, controlling a car, zone of control, space cushion management, the SMOG technique, adverse conditions and emergencies, alcohol and drugs, responsibilities of operating a car, basic car maintenance, and more. We focus on building confidence through a positive approach to the responsibility of driving.

    About the Permit Test
    To take the written permit test, your student must complete the 30-Hour Driver Education Course and be 15 years of age or within 30 days of their 15th birthday. IEP and 504 accommodations are available if needed. Please make sure to register for the permit test on the student center page.

    *Please Note: Written Permit Tests will follow State and local health department COVID-19 protocol.

  • 30 Hour Virtual ZOOM Classroom + Permit Test

    Package Includes the 30-Hour Virtual Classroom and the Written Permit Test

    About the Virtual Class
    Students must be at least 14 years and 6 months of age on day one of class. This 30-Hour Driver Education Classroom will be logged into virtually through ZOOM. The credentials and materials will be sent out 3-5 days ahead of classroom start. Each student will log in on the four scheduled dates to attend a live virtual classroom with our Police Officer instructors. This course also includes an informative 30-minute parent orientation on the first day of class, please watch with your student.

    About Our Curriculum
    Our curriculum covers SIPDE, defensive driving, traffic laws, controlling a car, zone of control, space cushion management, the SMOG technique, adverse conditions and emergencies, alcohol and drugs, responsibilities of operating a car, basic car maintenance, and more. We focus on building confidence through a positive approach to the responsibility of driving.

    About the Permit Test
    To take the written permit test, your student must complete the 30-Hour Driver Education Course and be 15 years of age or within 30 days of their 15th birthday. IEP and 504 accommodations are available if needed. Please make sure to register for the permit test on the student center page.

    *Please Note: Written Permit Tests will follow State and local health department COVID-19 protocol.

  • 30-Hour Self-Pace Online Course

    Includes the Self-Paced Online Course Only

    About the Course
    Your student must be at least 14 years and 6 months of age to take the online course. Our online course follows a series of learning modules and can be completed at your student's own pace within the required six-month window. The online course includes an upgraded narrative textbook. The login credentials for the course will be emailed within 24 hours of purchase. 

    *Please Note: This online, self-paced course must be completed within six months. This course does not include the written permit test but can be purchased separately for $40 (see option below).

  • Written Permit Test

    Includes the Written Permit Test Only

    Permit Test Requirements
    To take the written permit test, your student must complete the 30-Hour Driver Education Course and be 15 years of age or within 30 days of their 15th birthday. If the 30-Hour Course was completed elsewhere (not with TopCops), you must show proof of course completion.

    Available Test Accomodations
    The permit tests are proctored and entered into the DMV system by Dr. Melinda Groom. Dr. Groom is a retired BVSD principal and can provide IEP and 504 accommodations if needed. 

    Written Permit Test Schedule 2021  |  Written Permit Test Schedule 2022

    *Please Note: We will need the code from your instructional permit application that you received from the DMV website to enter your permit test completion. The permit tests are valid for 180 days (six months) from the date issued. Fees are non-refundable. The written permit test is taken in person and follows State and local health department COVID-19 protocol. Please see schedules above for location information. 

  • 6-Hour Behind-The-Wheel Driving Lessons + Driving Test

    Package Includes Two 3-Hour Driving Lessons and the Driving Test

    About Our Driving Lessons
    Our private driving lessons are one-on-one with your student and a Colorado Police Officer as the Driving Instructor. We recommend your student takes the lessons within the first 3-6 months of obtaining their permit. Each lesson will cover basic car control, road management, scanning, decision making, hazard management, and highway control.

    Lessons can be tailored to the student's needs (such as specific routes and skills); just speak with your student's Officer Driving Instructor. 

    About the Driving Test
    The driving test takes about 20 minutes. If one of our Police Officer Driving Instructors is not there when you arrive, they are out on another driving test and will be back shortly. The test will be on the skills required to be a successful and safe licensed driver per State guidelines. The Driving Test can be taken at either our Broomfield or Louisville location.

    Driving Test Requirements
    Once the lessons are complete, and the permit has been held for at least one year from the date of issue (unless student is 18+ years of age), your student can take the Driving Test. Please review the information on our Driving Test page for more details and requirements.

    *Please Note: Your student must have their permit to take the driving lessons.

  • 6-Hour Behind-the-Wheel Driving Lessons

    Includes Two 3-Hour Driving Lessons Only

    Our private driving lessons are one-on-one with your student and a Colorado Police Officer as the Driving Instructor. We recommend your student takes the lessons within the first 3-6 months of obtaining their permit. Each lesson will cover basic car control, road management, scanning, decision making, hazard management, and highway control.

    Lessons can be tailored to the student's needs (such as specific routes and skills); just speak with your student's Officer Driving Instructor. 

    *Please Note: Your student must have their permit to take the driving lessons.

  • 3-Hour Driving Lesson + Driving Test

    Package Includes One 3-Hour Driving Lesson and the Driving Test 

    This package is intended for students looking to practice and refresh their training before the driving test. You will need to schedule two appointments; one for the driving lesson and one for the driving test.

    About Our Driving Lesson
    Our private driving lesson is one-on-one with your student and a Colorado Police Officer as the Driving Instructor. This lesson will cover basic car control, road management, scanning, decision making, hazard management, and highway control. This lesson can also be tailored to the student's needs; just speak with the Officer Driving Instructor.

    About the Driving Test
    The driving test takes about 20 minutes. If one of our Police Officer Driving Instructors is not there when you arrive, they are out on another driving test and will be back shortly. The test will be on the skills required to be a successful and safe licensed driver per State guidelines. The Driving Test can be taken at either our Broomfield or Louisville location.

    Driving Test Requirements
    Once the lessons are complete, and the permit has been held for at least one year from the date of issue (unless student is 18+ years of age), your student can take the Driving Test. Please review the information on our Driving Test page for more details and requirements.

    *Please Note: Six hours of behind-the-wheel driving lessons is mandatory if your student is under 16 and a half years of age at the time of applying for a driver's license. Your student must have their permit to take their driving lesson.

  • 3-Hour Driving Lesson

    Includes One 3-Hour Driving Lesson Only

    Our private driving lesson is one-on-one with your student and a Colorado Police Officer as the Driving Instructor. This lesson is perfect for assessing your student's skills, working on specific driving maneuvers, and gaining more experience behind the wheel.

    *Please Note: Six hours of behind-the-wheel driving lessons is mandatory if your student is under 16 and a half years of age at the time of applying for a driver's license. Your student must have their permit to take their driving lesson.

  • Defensive Driving Course

    Includes a 2-Hour Defensive Driving Course Only

    This course is intended for newly licensed drivers and those feeling unsure about their driving abilities in heavy traffic, during bad weather, or snow and icy conditions.

    About the Course
    Our Defensive Driving Course offers a tremendous value and potentially life-saving training experience. In their own vehicles, students will work one-on-one with one of our Police Officer Driving Instructors to practice maneuvers that can't be taught during the behind-the-wheel lessons. The course covers:

    • ABS Braking
    • Tactical Decision Making
    • Situational Awareness
    • Evasive Driving (Hazard Avoidance, Obstacle Avoidance, Emergency Stopping)
    • Precision Skills (Vehicle Control in Tight Maneuvers)
    • Threshold Braking (Winter Driving Techniques)
    • Distracted Driving (Texting While Driving)

    Course Requirements
    To take the course, the student must have a driver's license.

    *Please Note: This course is only offered on select days. Please contact the office for availability BEFORE creating an account and making payment.