Colorado Drivers License Testing

Take the Colorado Driving Test with TopCops Driving School 

The Colorado Driver's License Test is an approximately 20-minute evaluation of 100+ items covering the skills required to be a safe and successful licensed driver per Colorado DMV guidelines. In their own car, students will test one-on-one with one of our police officer test examiners. During the test, students will need to demonstrate that they can follow speed limits and other traffic signs, make complete stops, navigate intersections and lane changes safely, use their signals and mirrors, yield to the right-of-way, and understand other Colorado traffic laws.

We understand that the driving test can invoke some feelings of stress and nervousness for our students. Our officers maintain a positive, calm, and supportive demeanor so students can confidently focus on their driving exam. At test completion, students will receive their results along with helpful feedback. No matter the testing result, TopCops Driving School supports our students and helps them navigate the following steps to become a safe driver for life!

Students must take and pass the Drive Test from a Colorado driving school to receive their driver's license, as the DMV no longer provides the Driving Skills Test. Please review the information below, and if you have any questions, please call our office during regular business hours at (720) 261-8591.

*Please Note:

  • The driving test is for a regular non-commercial vehicle license.
  • If you have an out-of-state permit or license, you must contact the Colorado State DMV to understand what steps you must take before you can take a third-party driving test. Third-party testing facilities must have a Colorado State application code to test or enter you into the Colorado DMV for any tests. 
  • If you fail the driving test, you must retake the test on a different date. Only 1 Drive Test per day is allowed by the State DMV.  Additional drive tests are $70.
  • If you have an expired license, you must take a written permit test first at the DMV to be eligible to take the driving test.
  • Out-of-country permits or international license holders will be required to take and pass the written test at the DMV, meet driver's license identification requirements, and be issued a Colorado permit before taking Behind-The-Wheel Training or the Driving Test.
  • You are responsible for ensuring you've met the state's requirements before scheduling the Drive Test with TopCops. Please be sure you've taken the proper steps before scheduling, as we charge a $65 rescheduling fee if you need to reschedule, and drive test fees are non-refundable if you need to cancel. 
  • Drive Test completions are valid for 180 days from the date of completion, so you will want to visit the DMV online or in person before then to upgrade your permit to a Colorado Driver's License.
  • Driving Test

    Includes the Driving Test Only (Drive Tests are Non-Refundable)

    The driving test takes about 20 minutes. The test will be on the skills required to be a successful and safe licensed driver per State guidelines. 

    Driving Test Requirements

    • Completed the required 6 Hours of BTW instructional drives  (ages 15-16.5 years)
    • Held the instructional permit for at least one full year from date of issue  (unless 18 years of age or older at time of test)
    • IF you have an out of state permit/license you must first apply, register and obtain a license application code from the Colorado DMV website  (cannot test without code)
    • Zelle payments accepted NO fees: drmelindacabot@gmail.com

    Please see "What To Bring To Your Drive Test" on the right. Without these items, we will have to cancel the driving test and charge a $65 rescheduling fee. 

    *Please Note: If your student needs to re-take their drivers test you will need to purchase a re-test ($70) by calling the office. You can only take one drive test per day. Drive test fees are non-refundable.

  • Teen 6-Hour Behind-The-Wheel + Driving Test + Defensive Drive

    Package Includes Two 3-Hour Driving Lessons plus the Driving Test plus the Defensive Driving Course  

    • 6 Hours of Private Behind-The-Wheel Driving Lessons (two 3-hour lessons)
    • Driving Test (with TopCops)
    • 2-Hour Defensive Drive Course (license and vehicle required)
    • Zelle payments accepted NO fees:  drmelindacabot@gmail.com
  • Teen 6-Hour Behind-The-Wheel Driving Lessons + Driving Test

    Package Includes Two 3-Hour Driving Lessons and the Driving Test

    • 6 Hours of Private Behind-The-Wheel Driving Lessons (two 3-hour lessons)
    • Driving Test (with TopCops)
    • Zelle payments accepted NO fees:  drmelindacabot@gmail.com
    Click Here to View 6-Hour BTW Driving Lessons + Driving Test Information »